Archive | January, 2013

Learn University of Arizona-College of Medicine -Sarver Heart Center’s Continuous Chest Compression CPR

26 Jan

ImageSarver Heart Center’s newest video makes it easy to learn Continuous Chest Compression CPR. Every three days, more Americans die from sudden cardiac arrest than the number who died in the 9-11 attacks. You can lessen this recurring loss by learning this hands-only CPR method that doubles a person’s chance of surviving cardiac arrest.  Watch physician researchers Gordon A. Ewy, MD, and Karl Kern, MD, demonstrate the easy, life-saving method that they developed at the University of Arizona College of Medicine.  See the video at:

Cal/OSHA Annual Summary (Form 300A) Posting Date Is February 1- Are You Ready?

20 Jan

From February 1 through April 30 of each year, most employers are required by the OSHA Record keeping Standard to post a summary of the prior year’s job-related injuries, even if there were none. In California, Cal/OSHA’s rules apply.

Included in the log (known as Form 300A) should be the total numbers of job-related injuries and illnesses from 2012 as well as information on the number of workers and hours worked for the year. A company executive must certify all establishment summaries.

The requirement applies to all employers that had 11 or more employees, except those covered in the California low-hazard establishments in the retail, service, finance and real estate sectors. Employers with 10 or fewer employees at all times during the last calendar year do not need to keep Cal/OSHA injury and illness records. 

Do be aware that the requirement to notify Cal/OSHA if an employee has a serious injury still applies to ALL employers. 

If there is more than one business establishment, a separate summary must be posted in each physical location that is expected to be in operation for one year or longer.

For a copy of the forms and instructions, see:  Cal/OSHA- Forms for Recording Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses

For a list of “low hazard” industries exempt from the recordkeeping rules, see: Exempt industries

Don Dressler Consulting regularly broadcasts webinars on OSHA and Cal/OSHA Record keeping and Reporting.  For information about these programs or for help with your organization’s record keeping or reporting issues, just call us at 949-533-3742 or email us at

Cal/OSHA Appeals Board Makes it Official – If You Fail To Report A Serious Injury –To OSHA – No Matter Why – You Must Pay $5,000 Fine

16 Jan

The only way to protect your company is to post the Cal/OSHA District Office phone number right next to the 911 or local ambulance phone number on your work emergency phone list! If you or one of your employees call for emergency assistance to help an injured or ill employee, such as to a local fire department, ambulance service, etc. and one of your employees is taken from your work site to an emergency room or hospital. DO NOT WAIT, CALL CAL/OSHA RIGHT THEN. YOU HAVE ONLY 8 HOURS!
In many localities, an ambulance service that transports an injured or ill employee to a hospital or the hospital that treats the employees will report the incident to the local OSHA office, even though there is no legal obligation to do so. If a serious injury occurs at your facility, you should assume that OSHA will be conducting an inspection
And new OSHA Appeals Board decisions state that $5,000 penalty for failure to report is mandatory for an employer’s failure to report a serious injury. There is no penalty of “over reporting”.
The Rule: If an employee is killed, hospitalized overnight, has an amputation or is disfigured, at work, the employer is required to report the event to OSHA. (Title 8 California Code of Regulations (CCR) section 342(a))
Who: The employer (via manager or supervising employee) must make this call. A call by the local fire department, EMT or your insurance agent is not enough.
When: The report must be made within eight hours of the point in time when the employer becomes aware of the injury or should have (this means keeping track of your employees’ condition post incident is required). The eight hours includes evenings and weekends.
Why: From OSHA’s perspective, the report is required to allow OSHA to quickly investigate hazards and make sure there is no danger of further injury.
What: What is serious? The regulations (Title 8 CCR section 330(h)) take a lot of the guesswork out of this. An injury is serious when it involves an amputation, permanent disfigurement (think scarring or crushing injury) and / or more than 24 hours of hospitalization for something, anything, other than observation.
Where: The report must be made to the OSHA office closest to the place of the incident. A list of offices is available at:

Be ready to tell Cal/OSHA:
• Time and date of accident
• Employer’s name, address and telephone number
• Name and job title of person reporting the accident
• Address of site of accident or event
• Name of person to contact at site of accident
• Name and address of injured employee(s)
• Nature of injury
• Location where injured employee(s) was-were moved
• List and identity of other law enforcement agencies present at the site of accident
• Description of accident and whether the accident scene or instrumentality has been altered

Safe Attitudes Make All the Difference

8 Jan

Chris Kilbourne recently wrote the following article published on the . It did just a great job in capturing important ideas, I wanted to re-post it here:
“When employees have a safe attitude, they have a genuine concern for their own safety and well-being as well as that of co-workers. They feel it is their responsibility to help maintain a safe work environment for all. Good for them, and good for you.
“Safety is our number 1 priority,” say a lot of companies. But when the chips are down and production needs to be increased, safety may suddenly become number 2.
Having a good safety attitude means that both the company and the employees have to make safety a core value. Values don’t change every time priorities do. Values become part of the way you and your workers operate every day on the job. They are part of your organization’s:
• Core
• Culture
• Policies
• Actions
Time and again, award-winning health and safety programs prove to be those in which the employer places a high priority on worker safety, and employees readily participate in activities that advance safety objectives. In other words, everyone from the CEO to the newest, lowest level employee takes safety seriously and always makes it priority number 1.
What It Takes
What does it take to develop good safety attitudes among employees?
1. Encourage employees to think about safety 24/7, not only when they’re at work.
2. Talk about safety all the time. It has to be something people are always discussing, thinking about, and improving.
3. Make sure employees work safely. This job falls largely to your supervisors, who have to have good safety attitudes, too. And you and your staff have to be checking up, monitoring performance, and being visible.
4. Encourage employee participation, suggestions, questions, and even complaints about unsafe conditions.
5. Set an example for your workers. If they see you and your safety staff wearing PPE, following rules, eliminating hazards, and investigating incidents, they’ll follow your lead take safety seriously, too.
6. Provide positive feedback for safe performance and attitudes. People love to be recognized and praised for doing the right thing.
7. Correct reported safety hazards right away. Nothing says that you and management also have a good safety attitude more than demonstrating that you care and are looking out for your workers.”

Are You Up To Date for 2013 Employment Posters?

3 Jan

This may not be the most exciting article you read this year, but it WILL save you MONEY and TROUBLE! With the start of every New Year, it’s time to double check to see if you are current with your employment posters and other material you use for employees.
This is particularly true for 2013, as not only California, but 27 other states have made changes which require new posters – including: Arizona, Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Hawaii, Kansas, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington and Wisconsin.
I have found the best value in employment posters is provided by All In One Posters, who sell a combined Federal and State poster set, laminated for an average price of $19.00 each. You can find them on the web at: or call 800-273-0307.
But it is not just posters you have be current in. You also need up to date Pamphlets for California Employees.
Employers must provide a copy of the following notice and pamphlets to each employee when appropriate:
At time of hire –
• The following pamphlets explain employees’ benefit rights:
• For Your Benefit – California’s Programs for the Unemployed (DE 2320) – Provides information on UI, DI, PFL, and Job Service benefits available to the employee.
• Disability Insurance Provisions (DE 2515) – This brochure outlines the DI program.
• Paid Family Leave (DE 2511) – This brochure outlines the Paid Family Leave insurance program
• Workers’ Compensation:
And the following pamphlet is required to provide information about Sexual Harassment:

Each year, all employers are required to notify all of their employees of the federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) more information and form of notice at:
At termination of employment:
• Notice to Employee as to Change in Relationship – Written notice must be given immediately to employees of their discharge, layoff, leave of absence, or change in employment status. This sample meets the minimum requirements.
You may wish to prepare the employee notice in duplicate and keep a copy for your files. Notices prepared by the employer must include the information on the sample Notice to Employee as to Change in Relationship referenced above
• For Your Benefit – California’s Programs for the Unemployed (DE 2320) – Provides information on UI, DI, PFL, and Job Service benefits available to the employee. Obtain form at:
Whenever employee takes a leave of absence :
• When the employee notifies the employer they need to take time off from work due to their non-industrial medical condition- they must be given “State Disability Insurance Provisions” (DE 2515)
• When the employee notifies the employer they need to take time off from work to care for a seriously ill family member or to bond with a new child.- they must be given “Paid Family Leave insurance program” (DE 2511)
These pamphlets are available for purchase, if you would prefer, from the California Chamber of Commerce. The Chamber sells a kit of all 5 different brochures in sets of 20 for $60 for members, or the items individually.
I look forward to seeing you early this year to planning how I can help you with performance and compliance issues. Avoid the costs of fines or lawsuits. Don’t hesitate to email me at or call 949-533-3742 if I can be of help.