Archive | November, 2018

CA New Anti-Harassment Law Is No Joke

26 Nov
Nov3-Sex Harassment
What Employers Need to Know About California’s New Anti-Harassment Law
Training Employees Is Mandatory
On September 30, 2018, California Governor Jerry Brown signed into law SB 1343 which expands the existing mandatory harassment prevention training obligations for employers. This new law requires that California employers provide harassment prevention training for all employees. Since you are a valued client, all our CalWorkSafety, LLC team wants to ensure that you have the relevant information.
  • Who: Any employer with five or more employees must train all employees (not just supervisors). The definition of “employee” now includes all seasonal and temporary employees.
  • Deadline: All relevant employees must be trained by January 1, 2020 (which means training needs to happen in 2019).
  • Frequency: Every two years.
  • Content: Required training topics were established in 2007 by AB 1825 and subsequent FEHA regulations. This is now augmented by another law enacted on September 30th, 2018 (SB 1300) which authorizes employers to include bystander intervention training but does not mandate it.
  • Duration: At least two hours of training for supervisors, at least one hour for all employees.
  • Record Retention: Again, as established by AB 1825 and FEHA regulations, employers are required to keep records of completed training including details of the attendees, training methods used, copies of questions asked, and responses given, etc.
CalWorkSafety, LLC has added several new video programs which provide you the training needed to comply with this law. Ask any of our team to discuss compliance options with you. 
If you have questions or would like more specific details on this topic, our expert consultants can help. Call us at 949-533-3742, visit our website:  http://www.calworksafety.com or email: dondressler1@hotmail.com
The Bottom Line:
Our Virtual HR Department offers effective hands-on Management and Staff training dealing with all Mandated Regulations.  By simplifying the employee relations and compliance elements we help clients reduce workers’ compensation premiums, prevent discrimination and harassment claims, and settle/avoid employee claims. To learn more about preparing for 2018/19 HR compliance, call us at 949-533-3742 or email: dondressler1@hotmail.com or Call:  949-533-3742
Advertisements

Take a Look At 2019 Minimum Wage & Overtime Updates

13 Nov

Nov-Min Wage-Overtime

Interested in 2019 Minimum Wage Tips & Overtime Updates?

Did you know that the Annual Minimum Wage, Tip and Overtime adjustment season began October 2018? Some California cities and counties are announcing their 2019 rates NOW.

Rate Change Examples Below:

California: State law provides that certain computer software employees, as well as licensed physicians and surgeons, are exempt from state overtime requirements if they receive a minimum hourly, monthly, or yearly rate, which is determined annually based on cost-of-living changes.

  1. Effective 1-1-19: the computer software employee minimum hourly rate will increase from $43.58 to $45.41 per hour; the minimum monthly salary amount will increase from $7,565.85 to $7,883.62, and the minimum annual salary amount will increase from $90,790.07 to $94,603.25. For licensed physicians and surgeons, the minimum hourly pay rate will increase from $79.39 to $82.72.
  2. Mountain View, California: The minimum wage will increase from $15.00 to $15.65/hour on 1-1-19.
  3. Sunnyvale, California: The minimum wage will increase from $15.00 to $15.65 per hour on January 1, 2019. On 10-30-18, the City Council voted to amend its ordinance to cap the amount of annual adjustments at five percent. Because $.65/hr. is less than five percent, the amendments will not impact the 2019 adjustment.

No-Cal’s San Francisco Bay Area – Bay Area (of Laws):

  1. The Alameda City Council adopted a citywide minimum wage, which, effective July 1, 2019, will be $13.50 per hour, increasing to $15.00 per hour on 7-1-20, with annual adjustments based on cost-of-living increases beginning 7-1- 22.
  2. On October 1, the Berkeley minimum wage rate generally increased from $13.75 to $15.00 per hour, increasing from $12.00 to $13.25 for employer youth works and job training participants.
  3. In Daly City, the City Council received a staff recommendation to hold a public hearing concerning a proposed citywide minimum wage ordinance on 11-16-18.
  4. The Fremont City Council held a listening session about whether to adopt a citywide minimum wage ordinance.

This information offers California employers real minimum wages, tips and overtime annual wage changes coming in 2019. We also can provide similar information for: Alaska, Florida, Albuquerque, New Mexico, Seattle & Tacoma WA.

If you have questions or would like more specific details on this topic, our expert consultants can help. Call us at 949-533-3742, visit our website: http://www.calworksafety.com or email: dondressler1@hotmail.com

The Bottom Line:
Our Virtual HR Department offers effective hands-on Management and Staff training dealing with Mandated Regulations. By simplifying the employee relations and compliance elements we help clients reduce workers’ compensation premiums, prevent discrimination and harassment claims, and settle/avoid employee claims. To learn more about preparing for 2019 HR compliance, call us at 949-533-3742 or email: dondressler1@hotmail.com Call: 949-533-3742

About That Loss Run Analysis

6 Nov
Loss Run Analysis-Cut Costs
The First Step: Cutting Worker’s Comp Costs. Loss Run Analysis Is the Second Step.

Online loss runs are the best method of cutting your Worker’s Comp (WC) costsfrom the claims perspective.  Even if you have a few accidents, online access usually results in immediate loss runs that can be printed or downloaded into a spreadsheet.

If your carrier offers a method to download information, it’s very helpful if everything possible is included in the download, because the more information on a spreadsheet, the potential to save WC dollars increases greatly.

Using the “red flag” terms when referring to loss runs is not suggested because there are no actual red flags as the loss runs may not have enough information to add this moniker on any of the claims listed. Paying attention to claim amountslooking ‘off’ is what you should analyze more specifically.

And, without looking at the loss runs, there is really no generic statements that can aid you in your loss run analysis.

For many employers the most confusing category is the term ‘Total Incurred’ which surprisingly, may not necessarily be a column on your loss runs. Below are common references used to define loss runs Total Incurred:

  • Total Reserves Incurred
  • Total
  • Total Reserves
  • Incurred
Loss Run Important Items:

  1. Injured worker’s name
  2. Date of loss
  3. Is it Open or Closed?
  4. Is the claim “litigated”, meaning injured worker has an attorney involved
  5. Claim amounts appear as “medical” and “indemnity”.  Other titles include: “medical/legal” and/or “allocated claims costs”.
  6. Cause of injury (not shown as such on all insurer loss runs).
  7. “Reserved” or “Unpaid” are claims where your action may help reduce costs or encourage insurer to close the case.

Attention getters arise when there is a significant amount of money in “reserved” or “unpaid” categories. Remember, since 2017 in California: there is a maximum dollar amount on each claim used to set your Experience Modification (Ex Mod). This amount is shown on the Workers’ Compensation Experience Rating Form issued each year by the WCIRB for your company.

Your broker has this form, so if you don’t have a copy, request it annually (prior to planning for your renewal of insurance for a new policy). The Experience Rating Form has a unique number: “Primary Threshold”. Remember, all costs of every workers’ compensation claim are charged to your Ex Mod, up to the maximum amount shown.

Beginning in 2019, every employee workers’ compensation claim will be listed on the form, and $250/claim will be deducted from the amount charged in your Ex Mod. This is done to offset the costs of “first aid” cases, which must now be reported to your insurer and the WCIRB.

CalWorkSafety offers detailed guidance on how I-9s are prepared and completed.  We assist with reviewing I-9 records and training employees on how to handle the I-9 process properly. To learn more send an email to: dondressler1@hotmail.com or call us at: 949-533-3742
.
The Bottom Line:
Our Virtual HR Department offers effective hands-on Management and Staff training dealing with Mandated Regulations.  By simplifying the employee relations and compliance elements we help clients reduce workers’ compensation premiums, prevent discrimination and harassment claims, and settle/avoid employee claims. Email Us: dondressler1@hotmail.com
Visit our website: www.calworksafety.com or Call:  949-533-3742